RSS

An update

18 Dec

Waiting for a response to my submission can be nerve-wracking.  After 3 months, I contacted the magazine and they responded.  After delays due to staff changes, they were still considering my short story for publication.  I can continue to check online, and I can email them again in 3 months if I haven’t gotten a response.  A mixed answer.  Hopeful on the one hand, but it causes me to squirm with anticipation.

In other news, I have a bare-bones skeleton of my novel completed now.  NaNoWriMo was exactly what I needed to push me.  While I didn’t hit 50,000 words in any way, shape, or form, the story is out of my brain.  Now comes the time of tweaking it.  In some ways, this feels good.  I wrote a story.  A long story at that and one that I think is at least decent.  Is it ready for people to read besides myself?  Nope.  But at least I’m done.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2012 in Short Story

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “An update

  1. ericjbaker

    December 18, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    Sometimes it helps to have another short piece out there making the rounds so you’re not too caught up waiting.

    I wish editor were a bit more focused on getting back to writers, though. I understand they have more important things to worry about, but there have been many times that I’ve never heard back at all. Then again, maybe someone’s trying to tell me something!

     
    • ericjbaker

      December 18, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      That is, “editors”

       
    • Megan

      December 18, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      That isn’t something I had considered, but I do have another short story that is almost ready for submission. A little work and I can submit it. Thanks for the suggestion!

      I do have to agree about the editors though. While they have a lot on their plate, without writers, they wouldn’t have a magazine to edit.

       

Leave a Reply

 
